Anne Arundel County HQL Course
Who needs to take an HQL course in Maryland?
If you own a regulated firearm prior to October 1, 2013, you must apply for the Handgun Qualification License. However, you are exempt from the training component. A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police. According to Maryland.gov, Approved HQL training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors who have established an account through the Maryland State Police MyLicense/e-gov site. Training is valid for 3 years and must be completed prior to submitting an application for a Handgun Qualification License.
What Is HQL?
HQL refers to the Handgun Qualification License training is a course focused on state firearm law instruction, home firearm safety, operation of handguns, and a student’s ability demonstrate the ability to safely fire a handgun.
Cost – $285
Length – 4 Hour Course
Duration – This is a one time course.
Who Is This Course For? Beginners, Anyone looking to purchase a firearm.
Who doesn’t need this class? (Training EXEMPT) Military, Veterans with DD214 and General/Honorable Discharge, LEO’s, Current registered restricted firearms owners (ie..pistols transferred prior to Oct 2013)